The Department of Biochemistry is a vibrant, dynamic and diverse group which aimed to be known for its excellence in teaching, and strive to be one of the foremost research departments in Nigeria and internationally.

Biochemistry is a branch of science which is concerned with the chemistry of the biological processes. The study of biochemistry deals with the chemical combinations and reactions which take place in biological processes (living things) such as growth, metabolism, reproduction, heredity, etc. as well as the effect of the environment on living organisms. Studying structures and functions of enzymes, proteins, carbohydrates, fats, process of metabolism and the molecular basis of the action of genes also form a part of biochemistry.

The B.Sc. Biochemistry Programme was established by the Senate of the Federal University, Oye-Ekiti on November 5, 2013 when the former Department of Biotechnology was split into three new academic departments. Thus, academic activities in the Department started in the 2013/2014 session.

The Department of Biochemistry offers a four year programme by UTME entrance and a three year programme by direct entry leading to a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) honours degree. The programme is designed to give an understanding of the basic principles of biochemistry and to give depth in various aspects of genetics, microbiology, molecular biology, embryology, and cell biology.

Currently, the Department of Biochemistry consist of eighteen (18) academic staffs, four (4) laboratory technologists and other supporting staffs. The Department offers three postgraduate degrees including Postgraduate Diploma (PGD), M.Sc. and PhD. The Department of Biochemistry has interest and expertise in diverse areas of Biochemistry and member of staffs are involved in researches that are of great economic and social importance to Nigeria. Postgraduate trainings are offered in various field of specialization covering plant biochemistry, molecular biology, biochemical and environmental toxicology, free radical and redox biochemistry, phytomedicine and phytopharmacology, nutritional  biochemistry and membrane biochemistry & biophysics among others.

                                                                     Fisayo Abraham BAMISAYE (B.Sc., M. Sc., P.G.D.E., PhD.)

                                                          Ag. Head of Department





Latest News

Copyright © 2020. Department of Biothechnology. Designed by ICT Directorate